February 20, 2019
Guelph, ON – The 2019 slate of Provincial Directors for the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association (OSCIA) was introduced in early February at their annual conference in Kingston. Taking the reins as president for the one-year term is Les Nichols from Bruce County.

OSCIA, founded in 1939, is a unique not-for-profit grassroots farm organization. The organization is comprised of more than 50 local associations around the province and a membership of over 4,000 producers that reflects all major sectors. OSCIA is farmers actively seeking, testing and adopting optimal farm production and stewardship practices. Their number one applied research priority is soil health.

As a leader in agricultural stewardship program delivery for more than 30 years, OSCIA works with producers to support environmental stewardship activities in agriculture through education-based programs and cost-share funding opportunities.

Nichols steps into the role at a very active time. “Although our crop production technology and systems continue to evolve at a rapid pace, the OSCIA mission to facilitate responsible economic management of soil, water, air and crops through development and communication of innovative farming practices, has never been more relevant,” says Nichols.

Les and his wife Mary live in Formosa. They cash-crop about 150 acres in a corn-soybean-wheat rotation. Les operates Crop Watch Consulting, working as an independent Certified Crop Advisor providing advice on production, nutrient management and planning services. He is also a licensed seed crop inspector. Prior to crop consulting Les gained 30 years of experience in agriculture retail and custom application.

The other individuals representing OSCIA regions on the provincial Board of Directors are:

Stuart Wright – 1st Vice, Heartland Region Chad Anderson – 2nd Vice, St. Clair Region
Warren Schneckenburger – 3rd Vice, Eastern Valley Peter McLaren – Past President
Phil Oegema, Thames Valley Andy van Niekerk, Georgian Central
Steve Sickle, Golden Horseshoe Paul Hagey, East Central
Mark Burnham, Quinte Eleanor Renaud, Ottawa Rideau
Birgit Martin, North Eastern Ontario Andrew Brekveld, North Western Ontario

The Honorary President for 2019 is Brian Hall.

For more information contact Andrew Graham, Executive Director at agraham@ontariosoilcrop.org

Leave a Comment