February 11, 2020
Guelph, ON – The 2020 slate of Provincial Directors for the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association (OSCIA) was introduced in early February at their annual conference in London, Ontario. Taking the reins as president for the one-year term is Stuart Wright from Wellington County.

OSCIA, founded in 1939, is a unique not-for-profit grassroots farm organization. The organization is comprised of more than 50 local associations around the province and a membership of over 4,000 producers that reflects all major sectors. OSCIA is farmers actively seeking, testing and adopting optimal farm production and stewardship practices. Their number one applied research priority is soil health.

As a leader in agricultural stewardship program delivery for more than 30 years, OSCIA works with producers to support environmental stewardship activities in agriculture through education-based programs and cost-share funding opportunities.

Stuart and his wife Carolyn live and farm near Kenilworth in the north end of Wellington County. Stuart, along with his brothers Lloyd and Mark and his son Andrew, have a dairy and cash crop enterprise. They have three more children: Tim, Genna, and Chevonne. Stuart joined Wellington SCIA as a director in 2000, became the Local Association President in 2005, then Regional Chair of Heartland in 2007, then elected as Provincial Director in 2011 and onto the Provincial Executive Committee in 2017. He enjoys his connections in Heartland and the staff and directors of OSCIA.

The other individuals representing OSCIA regions on the provincial Board of Directors are:

Chad Anderson – 1st Vice, St. Clair  Warren Schneckenburger – 2nd Vice, Eastern Valley 
Steve Sickle – 3rd Vice, Golden Horseshoe  Les Nichols – Past President
Phil Oegema, Thames Valley Andy van Niekerk, Georgian Central
John Poel, Heartland  Paul Hagey, East Central
Mark Burnham, Quinte Eleanor Renaud, Ottawa Rideau
Birgit Martin, Northeastern Ontario Stefan Szeder, Northwestern Ontario

The Honorary President for 2020 is Harold Rudy.

For more information contact Andrew Graham, Executive Director at agraham@ontariosoilcrop.org

Leave a Comment